Now, this is fun! I knew that Amazon was big and that I could get anything from steel cut oats to bandsaws, but according to the "From" address: onlinebanking@amazon.com they sell money too!
redshift.com is an ISP in Monterey, California. I notified them. I also sent this to Amazon. And, it is already submitted on PhishTank. The site, however, is still up. So, I paid them a visit using a proxy to mask my real IP number and filled in "my" name, which, I can’t tell you because it would make you blush, and my address happens to be the same as the ISP’s address in Monterey.
….oh, there it goes…. I decided to go back and get some screenshots of the site to show you how easy it is to fake a site and as I entered a name not normally used in mixed company and entered my "password" and hit enter, the site went belly up!
I did manage to grab the last page of it on the first round. The "success" page even had spelling mistakes! It automatically sent me to the real Amazon site after a few seconds.Ha! while I was writing this I got the exact same email again, only this one points to an ISP in China (hinet.net). Once again, the URL has already been reported to PhishTank and I sent the URL to the ISP though they won’t do anything, they’ve probably got an arrangement to get a cut of any action the creep gathers on the site! The site even had the same stupid spelling mistakes on it as the first one.

I just don’t know why it took me so long to switch over. I haven’t seen a pop-up or banner ad in years, I can get an indepth look into any site I’m on, I can block any script I want, easily download entire sites in mintues… but I’ll save that for another article.
One of the many nice things about Firefox is the "early warning system" that checks an online database of reported fake sites. This notice pops up every time I go to a fake site.
If your Firefox does not do this you can change the settings by going to Tools/Options. It’s very quick and easy.


Entries (RSS)